SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 201 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A laser yes, it helps aim, but a light?
You go hunting in the dark for a bad guy with a gun he's going to use your fancy gun light for an aiming point.
Imho you'd be better off equipping with Trijicon type sights for a home defensive situation.
Have a CQB plan in place before the manure hits the fan.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Of course a light works both ways.
If someone is in my house I’m not sure I want to go hunting for them and their friends.
But if me and Mr. Beretta 1301 tactical have to go together a light would be nice.
My thought is they're on my turf if its a break in, they have to come to me. I put a few little low wattage automatic nite lights in the house, the wife said just turn on the lights. I told her that they weren't for us but more so to backlight a tango coming down the hall.

·
Registered
8,490 Posts
Old school, when I was a cop in the 70's, they taught us to hold the flashlight out at arms length while searching the building in the dark, gun in the strong hand. In 10 busy years in Oakland, not one Oakland cop had his light shot at. Now some departments have cops carrying weapon mounted lights. I use one for my nightstand with suppressor (either P229 or AR15 pistol). Both have the option to push button light on, so you don't have to sweep the house with light on continuously. In the one instance a bad guy tried to get into my house a few years back, he tripped our alarm and took off like a jack rabbit. By the time I had my gun in hand, he was crossing the neighbors yard heading north at a high rate of speed.

My EDC has a laser and green dot sight, no light, (though I always have an EDC light). If I was still a cop, I'd be two things, a weapon light carrying cop, and probably the oldest cop in the whole dang country.

·
🎖USA Veteran
3,426 Posts