SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Sig guys and gals. I would like for whoever wants to to share what self defense round they choose and why. And please refrain from criticizing someone else's choice, that is not my purpose for starting this thread. To kick things off, I use Hornady Critical Defense 115 grain, from all the Youtube. testing and reviews, it offers consistent expansion and performance. Love to hear what you all like.

·
Registered
4,765 Posts
Federal Tactical Law Enforcement HST 147 gr. 9mm. It's expansion and penetration are amazing.

Or anything in .357 Sig. Because it's .357 Sig (kidding--I like Underwood for that).

·
Registered
392 Posts
I'm not an expert, but learn from advice on multiple internet sources to make my choice...
Speer Gold dot 124 grain 9mm.
Underwood makes really good stuff too, I just haven't bought any in 9mm. I do use it in my .380 Sig P232. Great little gun! Actually, it's not that small. Wish it were 9mm, but that's okay.

·
Registered
486 Posts
I've never been too picky about my defensive rounds as long as they feed reliably. I think I'm currently using the Critical Defense 135 gr. I place more emphasis on shot placement as I feel that trumps all other factors. Poorly placed shots with the latest magic bullets won't be as effective as a well placed shot with less popular rounds.

·
Registered
188 Posts
Count me as another who uses 147gr HST. I practice with 147gr Lawman.

The picture, examples of expanded 147gr HST, from left to right:

1) bare gelatin, 2) Four layers of denim, and 3) human tissue (gore-tex jacket, fleece vest, cotton shirt).