SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok... This may be the WRONG place to post this.. But I'm thinking about a 45 cal 1911.

One of the local gun shops has a used sig 1911 stainless used for about $50 more than I can get a brand new Springfield range officer.... Ok..The Springfield has a SS slide but is black coated... The SS is more. (?)

I like my SS but... Not sure which way to go.

I have no idea how to check "wear" on guns so I'm really flying blind here...

However..I know the sig is all SS whereas...On the Springfield the slide is SS but I don't think the frame is SS.

I'm an engineer by education so I know SS has MUCH better wear characteristics than cs or polymer...

I'm at a cross roads . Love my SIG's... But am not sure which way to go.

I'd have to " buy" a warrantee with the sig which would add another $90 or so.

Oh...What to do!!!

Opinions?

Thank you

Ps...I know this is sig lover Central so all responses will be run though my fox news filter ( lol)

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
The stainless RO is all stainless the black ones are steel, and quite a nice gun for the price. Only downside is smooth frontstrap on most of them. I have a stainless RO in 9mm, I prefer steel but blued not parkerized. I don't know which sig you are looking at so I can't really comment.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
.A buddy of mine said the same thing.. Smooth on the Smith vs checkered on The sig

I thought the description says SS all throughout.....

The stainless RO is all stainless the black ones are steel, and quite a nice gun for the price. Only downside is smooth frontstrap on most of them. I have a stainless RO in 9mm, I prefer steel but blued not parkerized. I don't know which sig you are looking at so I can't really comment.

·
Registered
115 Posts