SIG Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The 220 SSE arrived today! Huzzah!
What products should I consider to clean and lube the weapon? With my other pistols I use CLP, Rem Oil and regular gun grease for high friction points. Are all of these safe for the stainless steel? Should I add an additional product?

Thanks for the input!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7,639 Posts
Congrats on your new P220 SSE!! These are beautiful pistols - that will last a VERY long time too!

Cleaning & lube is as important with this stainless weapon, as with other guns. I'm no materials engineer, but have several stainless pistols. Keeping these gals clean & shiny has always blown-up-my-skirt, so perhaps I'm a little OCD here.

You may be interested to know that both SIG X-Five stainless pistols I have shipped with a tube of grease that looks like Super Lube grease to me. SIG's manual suggests using this grease on friction points to mitigate stainless steel's tendency for galling.

EDIT: I should add that the specific lube element that's effective in preventing stainless steel galling is PTFE, and Super Lube grease has a version that includes this stuff. I'm sure there are other brands available too.

So, keep her cleaned & lubed with the products you mention, and perhaps a little Super Lube-like grease on the rails - and you should be good for a looong time...

Cheers

·
Premium Member
11,970 Posts
I also have a P220 SE......perhaps my favorite gun to shoot....

I just use the same cleaners as I do for all my other guns....foaming bore cleaner, CLP, Slip 2000 grease and oil.

Reactions: Jtmagic

·
Resident Armorer Premium Member
11,619 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
. This is what I have used on all stainless firearms, that I have owned, without problems, for lubrication.

Where do you apply the SS lube? On all friction points? Instead of grease on the slide?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·