SIG Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to send off an older slide to be milled for a rmr and am trying to decide how to refinish it (there is a fair amount of holster wear and the milling would expose bare metal). I can do this and send back to sig after to get the nitron redone or the machine shop discounts robar finishes, so np3+ or rogaurd. Anyone have long term use with the robar? Does it hold up for the long term, sounds like corrosion protection is good but how about holster wear etc?

·
Registered
363 Posts
I have very little experience with NP3 but it seems to be pretty sold way to go as far as durability. Keep in mind, holster wear is inevitable doesn't matter if its duracoat or the best finish out there, it's going to happen.

If you want to go with a good nitron finish, check out H&M Metal @ Welcome to H & M Metal Processing
They are 45 min from where I live, I've used them before and would recommend them to anyone.

·
Registered
552 Posts
I am about to send off an older slide to be milled for a rmr and am trying to decide how to refinish it (there is a fair amount of holster wear and the milling would expose bare metal). I can do this and send back to sig after to get the nitron redone or the machine shop discounts robar finishes, so np3+ or rogaurd. Anyone have long term use with the robar? Does it hold up for the long term, sounds like corrosion protection is good but how about holster wear etc?
Wouldn't the color be different with Robar/NP3 being a silver and the Nitron being black? That alone could be the deciding factor for me.

·
Registered
1,631 Posts
Another option would be to have the slide bead blasted by SIG. The result would be a two tone pistol with RMR capabilities.

Reactions: PhillySoldier

·
Registered
7,471 Posts