SIG Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Sigs. Have to say I totally love the quality, feel and performance of my P320c. I did notice something odd but can't exactly find the reason. When I put the weapon in battery and dry fire it I can see the slide pop up ever so slightly in the back. It's not effecting performance I don't think because I am more accurate with this weapon than most of my other firearms.

What's causing this and should I look into it further?

Thanks

·
Registered
812 Posts
What you describe is perfectly normal. What causes it is the change in the contact points between the slide and frame when the striker is released.

When a P320 is cocked, the points of slide-to-frame contact include:
  • the four FCU tabs that go into the slide's rails;
  • the slide holding the recoil spring against the barrel as it rides on the slide release lever pin in the FCU, and;
  • the sear holding the striker back under tension.

When you pull the trigger and release the striker, a previously-tensioned contact point between the frame and slide ceases to exist and the slide shifts a tiny bit in relationship to the frame as a result of that change.

@MoRivera created an excellent animation of the P320 sear and striker that provides a good idea of how the slide is held downward while the striker is cocked and can move up once the striker is released.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What you describe is perfectly normal. What causes it is the change in the contact points between the slide and frame when the striker is released.

When a P320 is cocked, the points of slide-to-frame contact include:
  • the four FCU tabs that go into the slide's rails;
  • the slide holding the recoil spring against the barrel as it rides on the slide release lever pin in the FCU, and;
  • the sear holding the striker back under tension.