SIG Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When cleaning my Sig P226 Mk25, I noticed that there is what looks to be significant wear on the underside of the right slide rail on the frame. The anodizing on the frame has been worn through. The underside of the left rail looks fine, as does the top of both rails. See picture below.

https://imgur.com/a/qDa3mEt

Is this something that I should be concerned about? Has anyone noticed this with their Mk25's?

·
Resident Armorer Premium Member
11,341 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would suggest reading the first post here... https://sigtalk.com/sig-sauer-pistols/131-flork-s-sig-pistol-inspection-guide.html , I would recommend using "grease" on the rails where metal "slides" on metal, oil where metal turns or rotates.
Thanks for the feedback.

I apologize if I asked a noob question. I'm new to Sigs. Up to this point, I've been shooting polymer striker fired pistols.

When I searched for prior posts on this issue, I found conflicting feedback regarding this kind of wear. Some say it's a symptom of a burr on the slide. (This doesn't seem to be the case for me). Some say it's a symptom that the gun hasn't been lubed properly. Yet other seem to say, it's normal, stop worrying.

I bought the pistol used from a gentleman that said he only put a few hundred rounds through it. I don't know what he used for lube. It looked like he just used an oil of some kind.

I guess there really isn't much I can do about it, other than keep it properly lubed (per your recommendations) and keep an eye on it. Although, it would be nice if someone could confirm that they have also observed the same wear pattern on their pistol, and that their pistol has continued to perform for many thousands of rounds.

·
11,341 Posts
Thanks for the feedback.

I apologize if I asked a noob question. I'm new to Sigs. Up to this point, I've been shooting polymer striker fired pistols.