SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I detail stripped my 220 for installation of a short reset kit and found this:

This is the underside of the right rear frame rail where the slide runs. The opposite side is this way also but not as bad.
I purchased this pistol new and has always been properly lubed. I have fired less than 1000 rounds of hardball.
Surly this is not normal. I have not noticed any malfunctions of any kind.
What say the more learned of this site?
TIA,
Chris

· Registered
426 Posts
I am pretty new to Sig myself and don't consider myself much learned in their firearms. But, I would absolutely be calling them. Can't say I would be thinking I was going to get a refinshed frame or anything but that looks bad to me and they should do........something about it. Good luck and give us the follow up report for sure. Hate seeing this. As a P220 Legion is next on my list.

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks Guys, I didn't think this was normal wear. When I found this, I quickly looked at my German 220, 226, and my 227. None of these show this kind of wear.
FWIW, I have been running a SIG rimfire top half on this frame. Are these conversions a no-no?
Chris

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
This begs the question, what lube are you using?
Agreed, I would have asked the same question. TC25b in the beginning but have moved to Lucas grease. I always lube the rails prior to a range session. I have other alloy frame pistols than mentioned above (Ruger 1911's) and I haven't had problems with them either.
Thanks for your answers!
Chris

· Premium Member
3,289 Posts
Thanks Guys, I didn't think this was normal wear. When I found this, I quickly looked at my German 220, 226, and my 227. None of these show this kind of wear.
FWIW, I have been running a SIG rimfire top half on this frame. Are these conversions a no-no?
Chris