SIG Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for a bit of advice from experienced shooters. I am new to this, only been shooting around 6 weeks. At first all my shots were low left. It was a combination of wrong sight picture and anticipation of the recall, I think. My shooting has been improving with each range visit.

Decided on an experiment today, first picture is single action at 25ft

Second is double action at 25ft

It appears to me that the DA is more accurate, however I am willing to be corrected.
What would you experienced folks take from these pictures. Any advice greatfully appreciated.
P226 9mm 115 grain.

·
Registered
18,000 Posts
DA isn't more accurate. You put more finger on the trigger to overcome the increased weight of pull and that brought your shots to the right.

And yes, it does look like you anticipate recoil, but only in DA, where you have more time to think about what's going on.

·
Banned
7,265 Posts
Reactions: eddieaoneill

·
Banned
7,265 Posts
The more you shoot the better you will get. You will learn to not anticipate the recoil and shoot smoothly.
And then target panic will set in and you'll learn to effectively use the gun itself as a missile. ;)

Reactions: eddieaoneill

·
Banned
6,262 Posts
Welcome to the world of shooting. I think it depends on the type of shooting you're wanting to do i.e. range, competition, defensive, and they all differ. As you shoot you will learn how the gun works with your shooting patterns, and all this will evolve as you go. The more you do it the better you will become; however, I recommend taking a class from an experienced instructor who can demonstrate proper mechanics so that you don't develop bad habits which can limit your effectiveness and proficiency.