SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
16,853 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last for the year!!! Pinky swear!!!

I love revolvers. Especially Smiths. First revolver I owned was back in the 80’s, a Colt King Cobra 357 6” stainless.

But over the years I developed a soft spot for S&W revolvers. Went through the different barrel lengths and found that 3 and 4 inch barrels were my favorites.

Now one revolver that I’ve been wanting for over a decade was a Smith 22 LR. The buggers are just as expensive as the bigger calibers so the 22 just stayed as something to lust for.

I’ve been eyeing this 22 at my toy store for a few months. The perfect 4” barrel length, K frame, 10 shot. My Beretta was supposed to be the last pistol for the year, but a dim light went on in my head. My 45 acp Jerry Miculek 625 has just been collecting dust these last few years. I had reached the point of not wanting any moon clip revolvers and had been thinking of selling it for a couple years. So let’s see what I could get in trade just for laughs. Well I’ll be a monkeys uncle, my drug dealer offered me what I paid for it back in 2008. So the trade was made.

I picked up my 617 today and my old Smith was already sold. That was quick lol.

I’m thinking next weekend will be a 22 fest.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
949 Posts
I have an old 617 that I actually used for Bullseye matches years ago. Mine is a 6" model, and a 6-shot.

To me there was always something "unnatural" about the 10-shot.

But I must confess there is something about danbrew's cased set of 617s that gets my heart beating faster.

·
Registered
16,853 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Took the 617 out for her maiden voyage today

Started of shooting 50 Winchester M22 40 grain LR out of her. Mixed it up between single action to check the sights, and double action.
No need for any sight adjustment.

The plain black sights actually gave me a better sight picture than the 3-dot on my P229-22.