SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
1,910 Posts
I am not an expert, but I do maybe 500 dry fires with snap caps to get the feel for the trigger, the grip, draw from the holster, sight picture, disengage trigger safety (if it has one), etc. So not just putting rounds through it but the entire action as if I need to use it. For shooting I load and shoot each magazine twice with range ammo and then a box of carry. Keep in mind that each magazine has also had a lot of snap caps loaded.

·
Registered
102 Posts
I am not an expert, but I do maybe 500 dry fires with snap caps to get the feel for the trigger, the grip, draw from the holster, sight picture, disengage trigger safety (if it has one), etc. So not just putting rounds through it but the entire action as if I need to use it. For shooting I load and shoot each magazine twice with range ammo and then a box of carry. Keep in mind that each magazine has also had a lot of snap caps loaded.
I like this answer, but I may be biased as I do something pretty similar. I'll run a box or two of range ammo through it, and finish with a mag or two of the good stuff. Then I'll take it home and clean it, and it's ready to roll. I don't stop there, though- I run it through a similar routine on each trip to the range to ensure it continues to function well. I'll do this until it is time to store it in the safe when the weather changes and requires a different carry option.

·
Registered
23,802 Posts
A lot less with today's ammo prices.

Actually, I have enough that I already feel.confident carrying so I'm not conducting any more "confidence testing" on new guns for now.

But I normally run 400-500 for confidence.

By the way, I'm running for President of the United States for the TAITDH Party - The Ammo Is Too Damned High!

·
Registered
127 Posts
I typically do 200 rounds of range, and about 100 of self defense. As others mentioned, doing dry fire exercises too.