SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a standard p365 XL and am considering getting an RZ for it; however I have no experience with pistol red dots so there’s one thing I’m not sure about. I carry the XL at 4:00 all day, every day. This includes home carry, so I am frequently sitting, laying, leaning, etc in ways that put a lot of pressure on the gun. I don’t worry about it because I know there’s nothing on there that I might break, but pistol red dots look like they’re pretty fragile. Are these things meant to stand up to the daily abuse of concealed carry?

·
Registered
66 Posts
I’ve been carrying my XL with a romeo zero as my EDC since December. So far, it’s still going strong. The lens is not very scratch resistant. I have several scratches on mine even though I have been very careful when cleaning it. I also carry at 3-4 o’clock and the first holster I was using allowed the lens to sometimes contact my belt. The scratches do not effect the operation/performance of the runway zero.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I dropped my 365xl w/ romeo zero the other day. Apparently my iwb holster grip of the gun was a tad loose when I sat up from the toilet. Gun slid right out as I pulled up my pants and slammed the tile floor. Id say when it fell, my belt was about 3’ off the floor. I can tell the romeo is what hit the floor first because no marks on the gun itself and on the front lip of the romeo the black coating is scratched off.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
63 Posts
Beyond the lens, remember that the optic is just plastic. I would not think it would stand up over time as well as an optic made of metal.
Wouldn't this same concept apply to handguns as well? Glock frames are made out of plastic (polymer) and they have held up very well for decades now.....