SIG Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
357 sig reloading

I have been reloading for the 357 sig for about 2 years. (switched from 40s&w). I have been reloading all my ammo since 1950, and for pistol since 1995. I thought that I had it all figured out, but have run into problems which might be shared by others, and now THINK I have it figured those out. I am shooting a P229.

The problem arose from headspace. I started to have failure to fires(FTF), to start with using new unfired Starline brass, and then occasionally with older reloaded cases. The hammer would make no contact with the primer and I was puzzled to say the least. Then, following some leads from this forum and other sources, I saw that there were TWO views of headspacing for the 357 sig: 1) that headspace was on the case mouth, and 2) that it was on the shoulder. And all authoritative, not hearsay. I have, and regularly use a Wilson case gauge, and realized that my new, unfired cases, and some of my resized cases, dropped too far into the gauge with the head well below the the lower cut of the gauge. My “aha moment”.

It seems that I was taper crimping hard enough that the cases frequently went into my pistol chamber far enough that the hammer could not reach and I got the FTF. When reloading, I use a Lee 40 caliber carbide sizer and then a non carbide die for the neck. And sometimes I used the neck sizer hard enough to set the shoulder back. And of course, my new, unfired cases, made for a minimum chamber, also could not headspace on the shoulder and if taper crimped sufficiently, would not headspace on the mouth.

My solution has been to load practice loads in the new cases, being careful not to crimp so hard, and getting that initial headspacing on the mouth. And then being very careful when neck sizing to not set the shoulder back, on all loads, and hence headspacing on the shoulder. The problem seems to be solved.