SIG Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,073 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I was playing around today with running (not firing, just manually cycling) a variety of JHPs through my Chip McCormick 10-round .45 mags. I experimented with Sig V-Crowns, Hornady XTPs, Remington Golden Sabres and Underwoods, in two different 1911s - my Emperor Scorpion Carry and my Dan Wesson TCP.

I had multiple hangups with all of the above combos, where the hollow point would not clear the ramp. I tried the same rounds in both guns with a variety of 8-round mags I have - Wilson Combat, Mec-Gar, Sig, etc and had zero issues with those.

I have used the McCormick 10-round mags with FMJs and not had any issues at all with both of the above pistols.

As a result, I have a Wilson Combat 10-round mag (#47-45FS10) on the way to try. But I'm curious - have other folks found;

1) Similar issues with the McCormick 10-rounders?

and/or

2) Reliable success with other 10-round mags & JHPs?

I really want to find some rock-solid reliable 10-round mags for nightstand duty, etc.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I have two cmc ten rd mags, have not had any malfunction with fmj. Haven’t shot any hollow point due to cost and availability of 45 acp. Also have two eight round cmc mags. Sig stx and Remington r1 were 1911’s used.

·
Registered
160 Posts
I've got a pair of Chip McCormick 10 rounders. Used them in a Kimber at the range with ball ammo. Several failures to feed due to the round nose-diving in the magazine.

Since those failures (on several outings), they are plinking-only to my way of thinking.