SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Brand new--- P229 Legion-- My first SIG
100 rounds through the day I bought it, no problems,,

yesterday took self-defense rounds out and put FMJ in for range time.. as things go, I never made it to range... this morning I removed FMJ from mags and put the same SD rounds back in the mags.. 15 in each 15 round mag. and the 15th round was very hard to put in.

with 15 rounds and mag in gun ( I have to really tap it to get mag to stay locked in), the slide will not rack to put 1 in the chamber... Drop mag and remove a round, it works.. ( no place to TEST FIRE)

any ideas? both mags and I loaded and emptied them 4 times each... issue persists. :confused::confused:

·
Registered
33 Posts
Welcome and congrats on the nice purchase.

I'm a newbie with pistols, but I've heard some magazines are very difficult to put the last round in, this seems to be the case with the standard stock mags, but the ones made in Italy reportedly are fine.

FYI I've got a P229 nitron compact, and can't load the last round in my mags.
Bruce

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sig has told me to load and empty the mags a bunch.. and try and shoot a few hundred more rounds.. and if it persists they will replace mags under warranty... but thinking they will be the same mags... right??

·
Registered
932 Posts
Listen to Sig. Load and unload the magazines a bunch. That will loosen them up the fastest. Sig knows what they are talking about.

Reactions: Truckie

·
Registered
552 Posts
If you were able to put 15 in before but not now, Then 1 of 2 things happened.
1. The spring is not seated in the bottom of the follower.
2. One or two of the cartridges being loaded near the bottom are too long (COL out of spec)