SIG Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
LGS had one I'm picking up this week - total impulse buy. .40 s&w with thumb safety and decocker. I'm sure I overpaid at $599 but it felt really good in my hand, trigger was crisp and function checked nicely. I really like how the safety worked though would have preferred it functioned as a decocker as well instead of the decocker being by the hammer.

Looks in good shape but I need to get it home a cleaned up, then head to the range.

Other than shooting this or a similar model years ago, I have no experience with the brand or model. What should I expect and maybe change out?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
1,211 Posts
I have a P30. I put Heine sights on it, and wish there was a decent trigger available. I find the striker-fired version (VP9 I think) has the trigger I would like but have been told it is incompatible with the P30. Don't know absolutely that that's true. Otherwise, nice gun.

·
Premium Member
P320 X-Compact, P320 AXG Scorpion
9,130 Posts
I had a P30 several years ago. Great ergonomics.

Reactions: Poppastar

·
Registered
783 Posts
You bought a superb HK. The P30 in both 9 and 40 are accurate and reliable. They're built to last a very long time without parts breaking or malfunctioning. Parts are abundant. Be mindful that unlike Sigs, the recoil spring assembly is a captive assembly unit and costs about $50. The upside is that they'll last up to 25,000 rounds. Avoid steel and aluminum casings. And be sure to clean and lube your gun before your first range session. If the gun is stiff when you rack it, lock back the slide the night before you shoot it. Like the Sig P226 and P229, there are aftermarket .357sig conversion drop-in barrels for the P30, so you can have two guns (check out the RCM website).

·
Premium Member
10,455 Posts
Good gun.

Reactions: Poppastar

·
Registered
944 Posts