SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting but I've been lurking for months. This is a great resource and I appreciate all the info you members share. I recently bought a p239 sas gen2 da/sa 9mm and finally took her out today.

I put about 100 rounds through it of ball ammo and it was flawless and very accurate as expected. The only defensive ammo I had on hand was hornady critical defense. I had read previously that the 239 doesn't feed those well and sure enough I had the same problem. Probably 4 out of the 16 rounds failed to feed. It appeared that the polymer tip was getting hung up on the feed ramp.

I know there are many great jhp options out there, but I am asking the 239 crowd specifically what the have had the best reliability with. Please comment with your round of choice. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
18,372 Posts
Each gun tends to have it's own personality, so to speak. You really need to find and confirm which ammo feeds reliably in your gun. I would highly recommend any of these rounds for your defensive needs, they all have extensive data supporting their viability. Either of the Federal HST rounds would be high on my list.

Barnes XPB 115 gr JHP (copper bullet)
Federal Tactical 124 gr JHP (LE9T1)
Federal HST 124 gr +P JHP (P9HST3)
Remington Golden Saber bonded 124 gr +P JHP (GSB9MMD)
Speer Gold Dot 124 gr +P JHP
Winchester Ranger-T 124 gr +P JHP (RA9124TP)
Winchester 124 gr +P bonded JHP (RA9BA)
Winchester Ranger-T 127 gr +P+ JHP (RA9TA)
Federal Tactical 135 gr +P JHP (LE9T5)
Hornady Critical Duty 135 gr +P PT
Federal HST 147 gr JHP (P9HST2)
Remington Golden Saber 147 gr JHP (GS9MMC)
Speer Gold Dot 147 gr JHP
Speer G2 147 gr PT
Winchester Ranger-T 147 gr JHP (RA9T)
Winchester 147 gr bonded JHP (RA9B/Q4364)

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
I ran 50 rounds of Speer Gold dot through mine with no problems. Mine is 357 Sig, but I doubt that makes much difference.

·
Registered