SIG Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a P225 A1 and it had by far the heaviest DA trigger pull of any DA/SA sig I own. The trigger is very smooth, but very heavy.

I've been running a 17lb hammer spring in my P226SSE for about 2 years now and over the course of several thousand rounds I've had 2 light strikes and they were both with cheap reloads (and both fired with a second strike). I figure that the 19lb is a nice compromise between pull weight and reliability so I bought a 10 pack to change out some of my other pistols.

When I removed the hammer spring from my 225A1 I noticed that it was slightly longer and much heavier than any of my others. When I installed a 19lb Wolff spring the gun was transformed. The trigger is now comparable to my other sigs and very smooth. My question is why did my p225a1 have such a heavy hammer spring installed? Is there something about this pistol that is different and requires this (awful) spring? When I get home tonight I'll take a side by side photo. You can see the difference.

·
Resident Armorer Premium Member
14,048 Posts
Could it have anything to do with California? Getting on the "Approved" list? You stated longer... as long as the older metal seat type springs?

Pictures could help us understand...

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Could it have anything to do with California? Getting on the "Approved" list? You stated longer... as long as the older metal seat type springs?

Pictures could help us understand...
Thats a good thought but the p225a1 isnt on the California roster. I moved to the state with the gun so it is a standard 225a1-I dont own any 'CA guns'. The spring is a hair longer ( the thickness of a coil) but the spring seems to be heavier than the stock springs on all my other p series pistols. I'll take some pictures this evening for comparison.

·
Registered
821 Posts