SIG Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the sig forum but I am a long time sig owner. If own a p220 built in 1993. I am the original owner and I've put only about 4k rounds through this. I purchased some cheep ammo recently and has issues with FTE. Since it was due to have a rebuild and pro cleaning anyway, I just sent to to Sig. When it arrived they informed me that the frame is cracked. (See enclosed picture, crack is in front of the slide release). Since it was hidden by the grips, its hard to say when this occurred. Anyway, sig refused to clean it and add new springs because it is unsafe. My questions are. Since I likely damaged it more then 20 years ago when I carried it on the job and since shot thousands of rounds, how unsafe is it? It has sentimental value so I have no interest in selling it. Also, is it likely that this would cause an FTE? Are there reputable gun smiths, other than sig, that would clean and change all the springs?

I've barged about the quality of Sig for years, but after dropping nearly 1k on a pistol that only made it 4k rounds, I'm very upset. If I have to replace it, I can't say I'd buy another one right now.

Attachments

·
Registered
11,535 Posts
A very disturbing development.

How unsafe is it? If the manufacturer says the cracked frame makes it "unsafe", it wouldn't make any difference to me what anyone here says (no offense); it's unsafe. But then I'm a noob and don't know much about handguns.

·
Registered
22,075 Posts