1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to the SIG forums.
I am also a new SIG owner.

I have always been an avid shooter but a few years ago, I developed a health issue that caused a lot of weakness in my right arm. It made it almost impossible for me to shoot accurately anymore.
After 2 years of PT and lots of icing, I can shoot again. However, when I was a good shooter before, I am not now. It is a perishable skill.

Also, I have to change how I fire rifles. I used to shoot from a bench but now, I need to develop some way to shoot so that my posture is straight. I need to have my neck and head in the same position as though I were firing offhand standing. Yet somehow have that posture while seated. (for long range)
My favorite thing to do was to set clay pigeons in the dirt berms at 400-600 yards at the range and fire at them. I want to do that again.
I am now in search of some way to fire bench rested but still having my neck and back as straight as when I am firing offhand standing.
So I am on that mission.

I am starting back with the basics, a muzzleloader. Getting used to iron sites again. Getting back to just shooting basics. Ranges of 50-100 yards.
Then I walked into a gun store and saw a SIG MPX Pistol. I was hooked immediately. I was trying to figure out how NOT to buy that gun.
Its small and short, I could fire it braced against my arm or just held out in front of me with a fore end grip. I saw so many excuses to buy that gun.
Held out in front of me, using a red dot site, it would do a lot to strengthen my arms as I get back into shooting. (Shooting as a form of PT)! I know.... pretty thin. LOL
I bought the gun.
I have not fired it yet, I plan to this week. I plan to also continue with the muzzleloader and probly a .22 as well.
:)

·
Premium Member
1,300 Posts
Welcome from Missouri and congratulations on the Sig MPX. I wish you the best on your return to shooting.

·
Registered
8,406 Posts