SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! I have a question.

I'm currently in my first year of college and planning on entering the armed forces after I finish earning my degree. More specifically, the Navy Seals. However, I'm very concerned about one thing.

If I wash out of BUD/s (many do, there is an 80% failure rate), would I be required to continue serving in the navy? My plan was to go into a police academy if I ended up failing out, but I don't know if that's possible. If any of you have any information about this at all it'd be a huge help. I am confident I can make it through BUD/s but the thought of being forced into a low ranking position in the navy is not what I want to do after college.

Also, if any of you are LEOs, any information you have on the Academy would be well received as well. I am already putting myself through rigorous training preparing for both of these positions, thank you all in advance for your help!

Oh, and one more thing. I have already begun firearms training, I am an owner of a Sig 226. However, I want to get into longrifle training as well. Is there a specific firearm that would best prepare me for the Seals position? I know their firearm cannot be purchased by civilians, but is there a similar semiautomatic firearm that I can purchase and begin shooting with?

·
Registered
55,780 Posts
yes, you'll serve in some other function if you wash out but after graduating you might get into ocs.

sniper school is after becoming a seal, be able to shoot straight from 500 yards before you go in the navy.

·
Registered
544 Posts
I spent part of the summer at the SEAL reunion. It was a blast!

Everyone should watch a dog fast rope from a helicopter onto a beach head.

·
Registered
53 Posts
You don't want to be a seal. 90% divorce rate etc. it's hard work and even harder on your life. Many guys join the navy thinking they will become a seal, many are called few are chosen.

·
Registered