SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
1,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reloading 9mm for about 25 years and made a pretty comprehensive study of bullets, powders, loads, etc. My goal was to find a load that worked well is all my 9MMs with differing barrel lengths, rifling, etc.

My conclusion is that a 115 gr. plated or jacketed bullet at 1150 fps minimum came closest to the ideal load. It's accurate and reliable.

Need to be careful with plated bullets because not all are created equal. Plating thickness can vary from 0.003" up to 0.012". Jacketed bullets range from about 0.017" to 0.032". Lead tends to be soft.

My favorite powder is Alliant Power Pistol. Yes it tends to be loud and flashy but that's OK for the range and competition. Loads range from 6.0 to 6.5 depending on whether the bullet is plated or jacketed, and also depending on the bullet diameter.

What are your favorite 9MM loads?

·
Registered
3 Posts
I stopped loading 115 grain a few years back. I focus on 124 now and have had good luck with BE86. Haven't shot at paper in a while just steel plates.

I had a great paper target load years ago with AA5 and the 124. The stuff got hard to find for a while and I am finally getting back around to loading it up. Not a competition shooter but I surely notice a load that doesn't shoot straight.

·
🎖USA Veteran
3,032 Posts
I will add just a tidbit. I found the 115 gr. FMJ bullets from Precision Delta to suit my needs best primarily using Unique powder. Why go for more expensive reloads when you are simply range shooting.

I can see others who are shooting competitively dialing in on what is best for a specific pistol.

I am generically batch reloading since at my age the least accurate part is not necessarily the ammunition or the firearm.

·
Registered
17,951 Posts
115 Grain Plated, Frontier or Berry's or X-Treme, 4.5 Grains of Bullseye Powder or 5 Grains of Unique with the same bullets.