SIG Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope Sig will reintroduce the 9" 5.56 barrel. Other companies are using even shorter barrels with no issues. I do like the 11.5" but I also would like the 9" to go with the PDW handguard and keep the overall weapon as short as possible.

·
Registered
7,637 Posts
Wouldn't expect SIG to offer 9" 5.56 barrels. I'm not a ballistics expert, but my research on a 10" SIG516 SBR's suppressor purchase was that anything under 10" could be difficult.

Surefire offers an <10" model that has larger baffle bores, but other suppressor OEs void their warrants if installed on <10" barrel 5.56.

Surefire's R&D guy told me 5.56 can be unstable under 10". So, enjoy your 11.5" rifle!

Cheers

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wouldn't expect SIG to offer 9" 5.56 barrels. I'm not a ballistics expert, but my research on a 10" SIG516 SBR's suppressor purchase was that anything under 10" could be difficult.

Surefire offers an <10" model that has larger baffle bores, but other suppressor OEs void their warrants if installed on <10" barrel 5.56.

Surefire's R&D guy told me 5.56 can be unstable under 10". So, enjoy your 11.5" rifle!

Cheers
No plans on running it with a suppressor

·
Registered
7,637 Posts
Understand that you may not be interested in running a suppressor, and SIG probably isn't interested in offering a rifle they wouldn't suppress either...

Cheers

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Understand that you may not be interested in running a suppressor, and SIG probably isn't interested in offering a rifle they wouldn't suppress either...

Cheers
Well they originally offered the MCX pistol in a 9" so who knows. They also have a 7.5" 516 as well so Sig does offer shorter length 5.56 barrels.

·
Registered
10 Posts