SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to hand guns. For a holiday gift I already got my wife a tablet, for my gift she will buy me a hand gun (under $600) and either a concealed carry or other training class. In AK you don't need a concealed carry permit so I will be looking for some type of gun care and safety class.

I have shot rifles and have a few but never a hand gun. My rifles have manual safeties. Manual safeties are hard to find on handguns. I have been to several local gun shops as well as Cabell's & Walmart. (Walmart's gun people were pathetic they new less than I do) I have yet to find a manual safety on a 40 cal.

So I have a few questions for the Sig Talk forum:
1 is there a 40 cal semi auto with a manual safety?
2 how about a manual safety AND a de-cocker?
3 if they exist why are they so hard to find and can you tell me models to look oat and places to look?
4 I have read many things saying a 40cal is a good multipurpose handgun with more stopping power than a 9MM & more penetration than a 45 do you Agree
I have read that a 40 has a decent chance of stopping a black bear where 9mm's and 45's have no chance due to size and velocity. Can any of you verify or discredit that information.

·
Registered
580 Posts
1. Wilson Combat | Classic

2. Probably somewhere...

3. Are you looking for something like the Beretta 92 only in a 40? Is there a reason you want a manual safety and decocker?

4. the 40 came about from the FBI switch to 10mm for a minute, but 10 was a bit hot for a bunch of people. 40 is still a pretty hot round, lots of people talk about how that affects your gun funny. Similar to the 357 sig. And what's wrong with either 9mm or 45? I've heard stories about people killing grizzlies with .22LR. I mean, it took a few... But I wouldn't expect a grizzly to go down with only one "normal" handgun round (so not caskull, beowolf, 500, etc).
And black bears are a bit smaller than grizzlies...