SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to carrying and to be honest a bit concerned on carrying the P938 locked and cocked. Perhaps I will get more comfortable in the future. Before purchasing the pistol I did not think to try and see if I could carry without one chambered and cocked. However, I am not sure how to carry this pistol without the gun cocked and a round in the tube. If I have the slide forward and the hammer down I don't seem to be able to insert the magazine all the way. Is there something wrong with the pistol, is it not possible to carry this way, or am I just incompetent!! Any advise will be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,707 Posts
Cocked and locked is the only way I would carry my P938. I pocket carry in a pocket holster. The level of force required to take the firearm off safe is plenty to insure it won't just fall off or even get knocked off.

The only other way it could be safely carried is with an empty chamber. Then you are into the gyrations of operating the slide when confronted with a threat and your fine motor skills are at their worst.

I suggest you hit the range and practice, practice until you get the confidence to carry in the manner the firearm was designed to be carried.

·
Registered
11,535 Posts
You should be able to insert a loaded mag with the slide forward, it might take some firm pressure to get it to latch.

You can carry with a full mag inserted, chamber empty, hammer cocked or uncocked, safety on or off. Most will recommend carrying with a full mag, a round chambered, hammer cocked and the safety engaged.

But if you aren't comfortable with that yet I would recommend carrying with the full mag inserted, chamber empty, hammer cocked and safety on. This would require that you rack the slide to chamber a round and then release the safety to fire the pistol.

In time you will develop trust in the design of the pistol and move to a true Condition 1.

·
Registered