SIG Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Sigs and recently purchased a well-used P239 that I decided to take apart to refinish it. I think I got the frame put together correctly (hammer/trigger/decocker all seem to function correctly) but I cannot get the slide back on the frame. When I try, it won't slide all the way back to the slide hold position. It looks like the barrel feed ramp is catching on the locking block. If I take the barrel out, the slide can go into position, so I don't think it is something on the frame (I could be wrong though). I put two little dings in the barrel feed ramp and am hoping the barrel isn't ruined now. Can anybody tell me what's wrong?

·
Premium Member
18,520 Posts
The finish you put on the slide, looks like Cerakote or something similar, has changed the dimensions of the slide and hence, the fit of the barrel into the slide. The barrel is not seating properly to the slide, causing the impact on the feed ramp. Removal of the Cerakote from the slide on the breech face and the front surface of the ejection port should most likely alleviate this condition.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Coating dimension

I thought that might be the case, but I even tapped the barrel with a brass hammer to see if it wasn't seating all the way into the slide. It doesn't seem like the barrel can go any higher up into the opening in the slide. I can bead blast off the finish, but before doing so just wanted to make sure I don't have something else wrong. It seems to have enough play in it. With spring in and slide off gun, I can push down on the part of the barrel that shows through slide opening and it springs back into place there. I'm puzzled. Thanks for input.

·
Premium Member
18,520 Posts