SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
P230 .40 full and compact. Let’s go Brandon!!!
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’ve been reading about which grease is best for the slide rails, prices for 1oz tubes gave me pause and started thinking outside the box. Thanks to my LPN wife who brought this home and threw it in the junk drawer, I filled it with some Lucas red n tacky out of the grease gun and it works perfect! Gets right down in the bottom of the rails and slide.
It’s listed on the net as 12cc curved tip irrigation syringe.
Chemical compound Service Nickel Metal Tool

·
Registered
P226 Legion 9mm
39 Posts
I didn’t think of using grease on the slide and rails. I just use gun oil lubricant. Wouldn’t grease attract more dirt/grime? I’m no expert. Just looking to learn more. What’s the concensus out there? In my case, I have a 226 Legion and a 365.

·
Premium Member
205 Posts
I've been using Mil-Comm TW25B for years. I bought a syringe for inside the rails and the small tube for everything else I use grease on. Typically, grease on sliding parts (rails, barrel, barrel hood, etc.) and oil on rotating parts.

It may be a little spendy, but it lasts many years.

Rectangle Font Parallel Cylinder Auto part

Font Book Water Magenta Monochrome photography

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
I didn’t think of using grease on the slide and rails. I just use gun oil lubricant. Wouldn’t grease attract more dirt/grime? I’m no expert. Just looking to learn more. What’s the concensus out there? In my case, I have a 226 Legion and a 365.
I've noticed that in colder weather I seem to get more jams--especially with .22 autoloaders-- when I use grease on the rails. TG

·
Registered
469 Posts