SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I found a used P225 made in W. Germany and imported by SIG Arms when they were in Herndon, VA. I found a post that led me to believe it was made in 1988 (Sig Sauer Classic P-Series - Serial Number List and associated manufacture/import years/information - Topic). It looks like it's in good condition but I admittedly have no idea how to know that for sure since I'm basing that opinion on how the outside of the gun looks. Being a California resident, I have to wait 30 days between purchases and really want new P226 so I'm a bit torn as to whether I should grab this 225 while I can and get the 226 later. Pictures below. I guess I'm just looking for your opinions around this particular 225 and if it's something you would or wouldn't pass up on buying if you found one (and why if you don't mind).

I should also mention I've only been firing pistols for about a month now and this will be my first purchase. I'm not sure if that helps with any advice you may have for me but part of me feels like I shouldn't be buying a used gun for my first purchase.

·
Registered
55,782 Posts
i think a bit high priced for condition, welcome from az

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your reply and welcome, bearone2! In terms of collect-ability, how would you rate this? The more and more I think about why I want this gun, the more I'm realizing I'm choosing it for the wrong reasons. Ah, decisions, decisions.

·
Registered
55,782 Posts
the exterior is pretty rough, good as a shooter but not much in the way of collect-ability.

·
Registered
2,433 Posts
LNIB condition on the errornet for less that 475. Check guns international.
Bear gave you the correct skinny,good shooter ,probably never be a big have to have for collectors

·
Registered
467 Posts