SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I decided to check out a local USPSA match last weekend. I shoot a lot, but at an indoor range where it's just point and shoot. Figured USPSA would be something different, and more fun. Everyone there, and I mean everyone, was super nice, spent a lot of time showing a total newbie the ropes and coaching. Really welcoming atmosphere. My thoughts going in were to take my time and make safety my #1 goal.

So I go through the 4 stages with my "squad". Shooting my P320 X5 in carry optics. My shooting was good, speed (of course) was not. No DQ safety violations, but I do have some things to work on.

But after a couple of days of reflecting on it, I do have some reservations about the sport. After seeing the scores, where I was 3rd from last in the overall (which I expected), I was struck by the fact that accuracy is not emphasized very much. I had more Alpha's than anyone else at the match (and that with failing to engage 2 of my targets in one stage). I know that by taking my time, I was more accurate, but I'd think that would be more important. It's my opinion, there should be a much bigger points differential between Alpha's and Charley's.

The other thing that bothered me a little is pre-walking the stage. I guess I look at this sport like practice for a real world (God forbid) SD engagement. Walking the course and no-gun practice kind of flies in the face of that. But it would be hard to "hide" the course from shooters too.

I know the game is what it is, and is certainly not going to change for me. These are just things that, as a first time competition shooter, struck me as odd. I may try an IDPA shoot next, but I assume speed is more important than accuracy there as well.

·
Registered
809 Posts
Congrats on the first event. I’m jealous. I was all set in early March to try my first match and then COVID. My wife‘s health continues to limit my ability / willingness to do such.