SIG Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a used P226 Legion. Took it to the range and had nothing but light strikes. Looked at the firing pin and it seemed it was getting bound up in the channel. No problem I thought, I’ll just disassemble the slide to get the firing pin out, clean things up and be good to go. Oops, I need a special tool - a 3mm half round punch. Again no problem, I’ll check Brownells. Not listed. Uh oh. I checked the SIG site. Not listed. Oh dear. Called SIG. The very polite gentleman said they don’t stock those anymore. I asked him how are folks supposed to replace extractors or firing pins then? He suggested I could make a tool. I told him that I’ve been shooting SIGs for 25 years and this was a **** poor decision on their part. Why would any company put out a design that requires a special tool for normal maintenance, THEN STOP MAKING THE TOOL!
Rant over - anyone have any ideas on how to disassemble an E2 slide without the now unobtainable tool?

·
Premium Member
Poppastar a.k.a. pops
1,095 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I am on their list. I understand that if you have the right tools, making a custom punch is relatively simple. Unfortunately I don’t have a bench grinder, angle grinder or similar tool. I suppose I could put a 3mm punch in a vice and go after it with a file. 😁. I did exercise the firing pin, the safety block and the safety lever and they all seem to be moving fine. Did the pencil test and it launched right out of the barrel just like my P225. Hopefully I got it freed up. Heading back to the range later today to try again.

·
Registered
1,841 Posts
Used pistol-
Previous owner wanted a lighter trigger pull?
Owner changed the mainspring to achieve his goal?

Light primer strikes....abound.

(3mm half round punch is to remove the long extractor pin......pushed from inside to topside)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·