SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So me and a buddy shoot a lot (500-1000 rounds a week) and we have been loading 9mm with single stage presses. While we can really crank out rounds quickly for a couple jimokes on single stages (200-250 rounds an hour) we are getting pretty tired of it. Our hands get raw and tired from priming and we shoot enough that a progressive may be worth it. Has anyone used a Dillon 650 or a Square Deal B? The SDB is about half the price of a 650 and that means a lot to 2 broke college kids. I've been reloading for almost 10 years now, so I like to think I know what I'm doing. Any input is appreciated.

·
Registered
413 Posts
I own a Dillon and it is between the two you mentioned. I load quite a bit and have no problems with it. They are rated at about 450 to 500 rounds an hour but that is similar to new car gas mileage ratings meaning you,love probably never get that. Y'all will just have to save a little longer but to me it would be worth it.

·
Registered
413 Posts
I own a Dillon and it is between the two you mentioned. I load quite a bit and have no problems with it. They are rated at about 450 to 500 rounds an hour but that is similar to new car gas mileage ratings meaning you,love probably never get that. Y'all will just have to save a little longer but to me it would be worth it.
forgot to mention it's a RL 450B

·
Registered
3,801 Posts
I use a SQDB for 45 and 9MM. To equip a 650 for 2 calibers would be higher than 2X. The 650 is a big machine and in the future would allow you to get a case feeder and bullet feeder but for the amount you load the SQDB would be great

Dillon is always a phone call away for free parts and sound advice.

I was offered a 650 in trade (+some cash) a great deal BTW for my SQDB and I passed. I do 223 M4 rounds on a 550 and 223 match, 308 and 8MM on a single stage

·
Registered
18,000 Posts