SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll try to keep this short and simple. When I started shooting handguns my first caliber was .40 S&W. Not too long after getting into handguns we started a family and I didn't have time to shoot for quite a while. With the start of the pandemic, riots and such I went ahead and got my CCW and started carrying a Glock 26. I am not a 9mm hater, I think its good enough but I've always liked .40 and .45 better. Now that I've been carrying more, I want a lighter carry setup which led me to getting a P365X. Granted I've only put 24 rounds through it so far but I'm addicted to shooting that little gun.

I also love shooting .45 ACP but I can't really carry it with my body type. The weight of the gun and ammo requires me to wear suspenders and while it's not a huge deal, its easier to carry the 365X with less hassle. So, I'm contemplating getting rid of my last .45 ACP pistol and ammo to obtain more 9mm ammo and perhaps a second 365X or a 320 X Compact. Should I keep the .45 around to shoot occasionally and buy more 9mm as money allows or dump the .45 stuff now and essentially convert it into a 9mm stash?

·
Registered
3,062 Posts
It depends on the 45. If it’s just a run of the mill everyday glock or similar.. move it on. If it’s nicer, hang on to it. my honest opinion is tool guns like Glocks, P320, P365 and M&P are just that.. tools. Nothing that can’t get replaced with something similar or better later.

Life is dealing you cards and you gotta pick and choose priorities.. It happens to all of us.

·
Registered
781 Posts
Last year .. or the year before I down sized because I thought it would make my life simpler. Mostly in that I reload so I didnt have to find components for several different types of ammo and so on. I stayed with .40 and 357/38. Have a hand full of each.