SIG Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone. I'll start off by saying I'm fairly new to guns and may have made a rookie mistake that will make some of you just shake your heads. Or maybe i just don't understand the difference between 7.62NATO/.308 WIN?

I was at Sig Sauer Pro Shop in NH the other day and bought a 716i TREAD with a Sierra3 BDX scope. I was telling the sales guy I was interested in buying one chambered for .308 as opposed to 7.62 NATO. I didn't take a close look to the markings on the rifle when he opened the box, again, I'm a new guy.

I got it home, field stripped it, cleaned and lubricated it, and took a good look at it. I can't find any markings that state this rifle is chambered for .308! The barrel of my rifle is stamped by the muzzle as 7.62 NATO 1/10. Above the magazine well it only states Multi-Caliber. I took a good look at the little label on the box with the serial number. It says 7.62 NATO no mention of .308.

Sig's website shows the 716i TREAD as .308 WIN. However, the online owners manual shows the rifle as 7.62 NATO, which more than likely is a generic manual.

If the rifle is truly chambered in .308, shouldn't that be stamped somewhere on this rifle? Do I essentially have a .308 only its stamped with its metric equivalent? Should I bring this rifle back for one stamped .308 WIN, if that exists?

I'm concerned a bit because I understand, maybe incorrectly, that you should only load cartridges of the same caliber stamped on the firearm.

I appreciate any answers, dope slaps, or words of wisdom any of you can offer!

·
Registered
180 Posts
Here you go...

·
Registered
68 Posts