SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to check and see what other people are doing. I went to the range Friday. First time in over a month. One box limit on ammo, so that was it. I would like to put at least a few hundred more rounds through it, but I work with what I've got. That's the fourth trip to the range so 200 rounds for my P365. My dad always said to clean the gun any time you shoot it. However, I'm not putting a lot of ammo through it due to the ongoing shortage. When I took it apart to clean it the barrel was a little dirtier than I expected, there was a little bit of grime that wiped right off off the face where the pin strikes. The spring and the rest of the barrel looked like the gun hadn't even been fired. Clean, lightly oiled, and spotless. The manual says not to lube the area where the striker is so I haven't, I just wiped it. I'm fairly new to semi-automatics. Am I over cleaning and lubing it? I searched the forum for " over lubrication " but most of the responses that popped up weren't very relevant. Trying to find the happy medium between overdoing it and not doing enough. The gun has loosened up quite a bit, but is still stiff compared to my Luger. Appreciate any helpful input.

·
Registered
5 Posts
You don’t need to clean it after session if you are only shooting 50 or 100 rounds. I do so only because i am just a meticulous by nature. I clean about every 200-400 rounds. They main thing is not to over oil it or that just mixes with carbon and causes a bunch of gunk. As you noted, do not put oil in the striker assembly. Anyway, that is my opinion which you will find varied I am sure.

·
Registered
197 Posts
50 rounds of FMJ will let you wipe off the slide and frame with a rag and old toothbrush. Run a patch or two thru the barrel from the breech end then run a bore snake thru. Oil the slides and barrel and anywhere you see wear. You should be good to go.

·
Registered
372 Posts