SIG Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi im pretty new to this and i have found out that my rifle doesnt like steel casings and due to the current shortage on everything i was looking to swap it out with a BCG that could better withstand both steel and brass after all when **** i need to be able to use whatever is available

·
Registered
189 Posts
I have never used any steel cased 5.56 in my AR's, from all that I've read they don't like them. Swapping out the BCG won't change anything in my opinion. From what I've seen steel cased 5.56 is mainly used in AK's chambered for it. Others with experience with this will chime in. Good luck

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
426 Posts
Any DI BCG will fit and work...
Yes, indeed. OP, also, you might want to first try just upgrading your extractor with a springco extractor spring and an o-ring.

Also, are you sure your gun just isn't under gassed for cheap steel cased 223?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
221 Posts
yes, any BCG from any DI AR will work. but lets work through your actual symptoms, it may be undergassed for the ammo you're shooting, it could be an extractor issue.

what specifically is happening? are cases getting caught between the bolt and ejection port(fail to eject) (stove piping) or are spent casings remaining in the chamber and it's trying to feed a second round behind the first(failure to extract)

hell is it extracting and ejecting but failing to feed?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Im not having any issues just asking in general because like i said i want a carrier that can shoot anything and not have issues or damage

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Yes, indeed. OP, also, you might want to first try just upgrading your extractor with a springco extractor spring and an o-ring.

I havent had any issues i just want to be able to shoot whats available thanks

·
Premium Member