SIG Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
884 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been reloading for about 9 months and have done a couple thousand 300 blackout and 9mm rounds (each), and 500 .380 rounds.

My set-up is a Hornady LnL progressive, dies are all Hornady (all Custom Grade dies). I'm set up to for 300 blackout, 9mm, .380, and .45.

I shoot at an indoor range and pick up tons of brass...so no brass picked up from the dirt. And, I clean with an ultrasonic cleaner.

The process I follow with brass is send 'em through the ultrasonic, rinse, dry, de-prime/re-size, then back through the ultrasonic, rinse and dry again.

I'm feeling particularly lazy right now so I'm looking for enablement (or a slap upside the head):

What are your thoughts on skipping the first round of cleaning/rinsing/drying and going straight from the range floor to de-priming/re-sizing?

Any and all "you're an ignorant idiot" abuse is welcome;).

·
Registered
1,194 Posts
I am not familiar with ultrasonic cleaners, so I cannot answer your specific question, but I do not need shinny clean brass. I clean to remove any grit etc. that will cause wear on the dies or firearm.

·
Registered
1,411 Posts
I dont think Id run cruddy brass through my dies but ive heard some that will. Especially if they arent very sooty. Sounds like you may need a Lee universal deacpping die and skip a wash cycle.

All my pistol gets 2 rounds through the press.
Once for decap, wet tumble, dried,and stored.
Then I size and load in the second pass.

Bottlneck gets 3 passes.
Deprime, wash, dry.
Size, trim, champher and debur. Short wash to knock the lube and brass shavings off.
Then only a powder drop, seat, and crimp on the third pass.

I only process in batches of 500 for rifle and1000 pistol. Always have a batch in the prep cycle to work on when im bored with plenty stored to load as needed.

·
Registered
89 Posts