SIG Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The question is simply: for a red dot, do you choose a compact barrel length or a full barrel length and why?

This is not about carry, maybe more about range shooting, but certainly about aging eyes, recent cataract surgery, and a couple of other factors, including this is my first time with red dots.

The platform is a P320. I have a Compact readily available. My Compact slide has contrast sights which I've been wanting to change. In looking at how to try a red dot for the first time, I could modify that slide. By the time it's milled, new suppressor sights installed, a red dot purchased the costs are adding up.

There is maybe another option, I really don't like the contrast sights and for this FCU a full slide would give me more options at the range. A long slide range gun and a compact bedside gun. If I explore those options there are conversion slides available with and without optics. That means another barrel and recoil spring. That adds up.

So if you've gone to the trouble and expense to improve sight radius on a firearm, why choose to put a red dot on it?

I've tried renting red dot fitted P320's at the local range and frankly it was a PITA. The guns were totally over worked. Dirty, and a bit questionable for use and the dot/witness seemed way out of whack and couldn't hit anything consistently. Maybe that's telling me something about my shooting instincts and I should just say the heck away from the red dot idea.

I currently have (in 9mm): P320C contrast sights; P225-A1 Siglites (way better than contrast day & night, but a little small for my big hands and slim on capacity).

So if you were doing this, where would you put the work/cash? I'm really not equipped to do the mechanicals of switching/fitting sights, milling, etc.

Thanks for letting me think on your time....

Roger

·
Premium Member
562 Posts