SIG Talk banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reloading 357Sig for a few months now. Only using a P320. I picked up a 1911 XO. Put 150 rounds through it and then got a trigger job and a flat trigger. Today was the first time I fired it after the work. I shot 4 magazines of Speer (Georgia Arms Canned Heat), nothing out of the ordinary. Then a magazine of my reloads. Accuracy was a little suspect but the amount of flash was much higher/more than the factory. This is the first time I have shot both factory and reloads in same session so it was very noticeable. Shot 100 rounds, switching back and forth and my reloads have a much more visible flash.

Do I need to change my recipe? I use AA#9, 12 grains. I use CCI primers and Montana Gold 125 grain bullets. I could never find an exact match in load data from web sites or manuals. I read of numerous folks who used this combo and from what I can find the low end is 11.8 and the high end is 13. So I started with 12 and never had any failures or slide recycling issues.

I have loaded and shot over 1000 rounds and never had a problem at all. Not even sure this flash issue is a problem but looking for suggestions from the more seasoned reloaders out there. I am still somewhat of a rookie at this. Thank you.

·
Registered
7,471 Posts
In the old days, flash meant your powder was slower then the barrel length.
Some is expected, but a faster powder may be called for.
That being said, how Underwood Ammunition has cooked up the 357 sig 125 Speer to 1500 fps reliably is a mystery.

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the tip. I have used the shorter barrel P320 up until now but never really noticed. As the 1911 has the longer barrel, I was not expecting this. I also have some AA#2, which is a few steps up on the burn rate chart. I will look into trying the powder change.

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·